Journal 1: The Omnivore’s Dilemma Part 1

For me personally, I like corn quite a bit. It’s tasty, fun to eat, and healthy. However, one thing that I did not know about corn was that it was the main source of food before. The reason I did not know this was because I found it a bit irrelevant to my life, it’s not like knowing what kinds of food the people in the olden ages ate would affect my life today. After reading the book, I did a bit of research and found out that corn kind of acted as the main base of a meal. Nowadays, most people still eat corn, but they use rice, noodles, bread, and or mash potatoes as their base. Unlike corn, most of these bases only provide carbohydrates for our body function properly with energy. Corn provides protein and several vitamins for our body. I think that the main reason people eat more rice, and bread rather than corn is because it’s cheaper. For me personally, I like the plain taste of rice and bread. With the combination of meat and vegetables, a plain base actually enhances the taste for me. Another reason is because I’m Asian and I grew up eating a lot of rice.

The author seems to have taken a rather documentary approach. He explains the history of corn, and how it developed throughout the ages. He explains on how the economy affected the growth rate of corn, and how it affected people’s diets. I guess it could be stronger in a way. For me personally, I found the book a bit boring due to it’s tone, also reading is not my favorite thing to do, and the book just didn’t seem to interest me. I personally like horror and or mysterious books. Back to the book, I do believe that he should have added a bit more references to things that people from a variety of ages would appreciate and have an interest in. For example, I really found an interest in the corn sex section, simply because I found the title hilarious. This brings in a sense of sex appeal, which expects a reaction from the audience. I feel that if he did more of this, then more people would find an interest in reading the book, or at least I would.

I think that the author’s message is pretty clear. He is trying to say that evolution occurs in every single situation in the world. When most people hear the word evolution, they would think about animals or how technology has advanced over the years. I think that Michael Pollan was trying to tell us, in a sense, that change is inevitable. Whatever we do, we are striving towards a different outcome and swaying away from our past, our original methods. The author explains how corn has evolved over the years, and how it goes from the ground and into your food. I think that the author is missing the fact that change doesn’t have to be bad. The author explained that the process of supersizing food eventually led to obesity. Other people can easily say that the process of supersizing eventually led to the end of starvation in many families. The author is overlooking the argument that change is bad. Evolution may be inevitable, but you should see it as a strive towards a different goal, to discover new things and improve our knowledge and understanding of the world in general.

Leave a Reply

